Proud Periwinkles


Proud Periwinkles

Minute Periwinkles
Mooting to celebrate
Spring is here!

Toot! Toot!
Wood nymphs’whistles
Twinkling and tinkling,
Sweetly serenading
Fairy friends.

Heartwood forest near the village of Sandridge and the city of St.Albans is a truly magical place, it is a newly emerging woodland, owned and managed by the Woodland trust,it is England’s largest native woodland. The forest is surrounded by ancient woodlands where we saw woodpeckers and a couple of week’s ago beautiful Bluebells. Sometimes the tiny Periwinkle can be forgotten or trodden on. The language of flowers suggests that Periwinkles represent an early friendship.

7 thoughts on “Proud Periwinkles

  1. Love you poem, and I love these tiny little flowers.. I am always amazed at the minuteness of these little gems.. and how they make such a grand carpet, .. One is always looking where to put your feet.. The woodland sounds to be a well balanced one… πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing xox

    • Thanks Sue. They are so delicate, I feel I need to walk with bare feet on tiptoes. I’m going to take my magnifying glass next time because there are tiny white and violet daisies and teeny weeny orchid like flowers. The meadow is abundant at the moment, full of bees and skylarks too. Nature is so clever! πŸ™‚ x

        • I so often will point out a bird, flower or the moon as I’m walking about and then their eyes open, so many people’s eyes seem to be shut, it is a shame. One day when I was taking a photo of a poppy, a woman rushed over, her expression changing as she reached for her mobile, took a photo and said she’d never noticed such a lovely poppy. πŸ™‚

          • I know… I so dislike when people are walking and talking on their mobiles. oblivious of nature they are.. So many look but do not SEE! πŸ˜‰

            • Sorry Sue to continue this conversation a day later. Good morning. I hope you are feeling well.
              I find that they give me a funny look as if I’m bringing something to their attention that they would prefer to ignore…ignorance is bliss! Very, very sad people. I always ask for healing for those people. Xox

Comments are closed.