NaBloPoMo: Faery moon


image

image

Just for a change I thought I’d blog about a fun way of making art. This painterly printing technique is called ‘Monotype’. It has this name because each print is unique. The ink is rolled out on the metal plate (see top photo), then using brushes, fingers or rags, marks can be made to create a painting or design on the plate. In my monotype, ‘Faery moon’ I used the end of a paintbrush, my finger and a small palette knife to get the picture I wanted to create. Actually Faery moon just seemed to emerge like magic, much like my poetry. I love the colours!  The messy process finished, I put paper onto the plate and ran them through the press. The second photo is the resulting unique print. Usually the plate would be washed off and inked again ready for a new design, but in this case I loved the effect of the rich colours on the plate so much that I decided to leave it exactly how it looked. It’s difficult to show the print off in a photo, but hopefully you’ll enjoy looking at it.

14 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo: Faery moon

  1. Is there an art form you don’t do beautifully????? My goodness!!! I’ll bet you’re great at textile arts too! If you say you knit or crochet or quilt or make beautiful bird houses, I wouldn’t be at all surprised.

    • Thank you so much! Sorry to disappoint you but I’m not great at knitting, I tried it a few times but I always lost concentration and dropped stitches! My mum’s brilliant at knitting and sewing though, she designed and made my sister’s wedding dress. 🙂

Comments are closed.